Once Upon A Day in November, Part 1

First of all… Happy Belated Birthday to Ipoh Mali Talak Sombong! (born, 27th December 2006).
Finally changed the blog template to a brighter one and also put up a new banner picture (in conjunction with New Year and also the first blog anniversary). It took me sometime to get a good picture for the banner as my initial plan was to put up some Ferrero Rocher but they turned out too dark, so I have to dig back my archives for a substitute.

Here I wish Ipoh Mali Talak Sombong a Belated Birthday and hope it’ll continue to deliver more good eateries to all food lovers out there!

* * * * * * * * * *

*25th November 2007, early morning.

Frankie: Hey, let’s go out! I wanna scout and do price survey on PSP (PlayStation Portable).
Me: You really gonna buy that? Where to?
Frankie: Where else, of course Sg. Wang.
Me: Oh, okie okie.

*One and a half hour later, Sg. Wang.

Frankie: You help me to ask ah, you know how good my Cantonese skill are.
Me: Speak English then. πŸ˜›
Frankie: There, there, quick. Ask ask.
Me: *blabbering with the salesman/salesgirl*

*Repeat few times πŸ˜›

Frankie: Hungry, let’s go for lunch. Didn’t you mentioned that your flogger friend recommend a place for pumpkin fried rice here?
Me: Yeah. She said it’s facing Amoda building and Times Square.
Frankie: This place then. Good Happiness right?
Me: She didn’t tell me the name of the place. πŸ˜›

Photobucket
So we were seated comfortably at a corner in Good Happiness, another HK-styled cafΓ© in Low Yat Plaza with bright, orange colour interior, LCD TVs, high ceiling (too high till I feel it’s a bit empty) and plenty of vacant tables. Not a good sign! But since we’re tired from all the walking, we decided to try them out. The Ying Yong (Iced Milk Coffee + Tea), RM 2.50 and my Ribena Lemon, RM 3.50 were just normal, nothing to comment about.

Photobucket
I had the so-called Wong Kam Fried Rice, RM 9.90 which is fried rice cooked with frozen mixed vegetables, shrimps, egg, chicken ham and topped with some caviar. Interesting and colourful presentation but the rice was a bit wet and soggy, hence I didn’t really enjoy it.

Photobucket
But the accompanied dried chilli paste actually saved the day! It’s deliciously spicy-ish, crunchy and salty-ish. I detect there’s dried shrimp in it and it’s so addictive, I asked the waitress to give me another small plate of this. The spiciness was just alright but you might feel your tongue numbed a bit if you take too much in one shot. I just love the chilli paste.

Photobucket
My companion went for the Pumpkin Fried Rice, RM 10.90 which is served inside the hollowed pumpkin like the one my friend had at U-Village. The difference: the ingredients. Presentation was quite plain and same as mine, the rice were soggy. He was hoping that his rice would be bursting with pumpkin flavour but it seems that all they did was dug a hole in the pumpkin and put in plain-ish fried rice.

Frankie: Nothing special about this place lah. I still prefer Kim Gary.
Me: Me prefer Wong Kok Char Chan Teng.
Both: *burst into laughter with no apparent reason* πŸ˜›

Good Happiness
Lot No. G-12B,
Plaza Low Yat,
Off Jalan Bukit Bintang,
55100 Kuala Lumpur.
Tel: 03-2143 1248, 2144 9915

Need a second opinion? Read these:

19 thoughts on “Once Upon A Day in November, Part 1

  1. Happy Belated Birthday to Ipoh Mali Talak Sombong!! Seems like our blog set-up around the same time. πŸ™‚
    I like your new template. So much neater and cleaner.

  2. Happy belated birthday to Ipoh Mali Talak Sombong too! And ooh, I love those kinda dried chilli paste. I’d always as for extra! extra! πŸ˜›

  3. Lyrical Lemongrass: Thank you sister. Heh, that’s soooo me.

    Ekeng: Haha, that can be easily prepared at home. *hint hint*

    CityGal: Thanks, yeap… you remembered!

    BBO: Thank you!

    Kenny Mah: Thank you! Heh, they’re addictive right? I could just have that and dump away the usual bird’s eye chillies.

    Jun: Thank you girl!

    Ai Wei: Thank you! Well, the rice were really soggy and wet. U-Village’s version is nicer and got more ingredients.

    LotsOfCravings: Hahaha! Thanks!

    SC: Thank you! Yeah, it’s 27th Dec, same as your birthday! LOL, no lah, you still look pretty and young πŸ˜›

    Tummythoz: Hehe… hungry or not? πŸ˜›

    Yammylisious: I don’t remember the English name but they put that in Chinese. So I just direct translate the name from Chinese. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment