Christmas Comes Late in Melaka, Part 2

*A continuation from Christmas Comes Late in Melaka, Part 1*

Photobucket
When I googled about Ming Sate Hut, I realized it’s actually located at the same row of shophouses with Nadeje, which is popular with their signature mille crepe cake. So, I suggest to the group that we hop over to Nadeje for dessert despite some objection (some of them wanna have cendol instead).

The place was packed that afternoon. There are no empty seats available eventhough the café spans two shoplots, so we placed our orders and waited for a while. A bunch on ladies suddenly barged in and started making noise in front of the chiller while drooling at the cakes displayed – till to an extend that we felt uneasy. Service was slow (I only noticed there are about 5 workers) and a few of them are foreign workers and couldn’t speak English.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
We then got our seats but we end up waited for about 25 minutes for our orders to arrive. The Cheese Mille Crepe Cake wasn’t cheesy enough, Raspberry Mille Crepe Cake was slightly better than the cheese as you can taste a contrast flavour between the raspberry spread and cream but the raspberry layer was too thin, and Original Mille Crepe Cake was very plain. ‘Nuff said.

I later got to know from WMW that the original chef has left Nadeje to open a new outlet in Johor Bahru. If I know this earlier, I should have go for cendol instead.

And that ends our Christmas celebration for 2008.

Nadeje
G23-25, Jalan PM4,
Plaza Mahkota, Melaka.
Tel : 06-283 8750
Closed on Mondays.
Same row, about 4 shops away from Ming Sate Hut.

18 thoughts on “Christmas Comes Late in Melaka, Part 2

  1. Yung,
    Sadly, I guess I will have no chance to taste the original ones. 😦

    Anonymous,
    Post updated with address. 🙂

    J2Kfm,
    Can’t eat that much, plus we don’t want to brave the traffic. So it’s either cendol or Nadeje. Yeah, 25 mins for the cakes.

    SC,
    Your pineapple tarts are way much better than this!

  2. CumiCiki,
    There are only 2 parts 🙂 I heard that the chef left Nadeje to open his own in JB.

    Ai Wei,
    Lucky you… I guess I’m one of the last person who haven’t tried mille crepe cake till now.

    Janvier,
    Ok ok, I’m guilty for this… next time!

    Mimi,
    Rum&Raisins was sold out that day…

    Nic,
    Oh yeah, much closer to you. Nope, I don’t have the details, sorry.

    NKOTB,
    Ehh.. Penang??

    YilingL,
    Not really as good as it looks…

Leave a comment