I Like CCF Too!

When I first moved to Cheras, I found that the CCF (chee cheong fun or rice rolls) here are kinda special; they sell in on a cart and you get to pick your preferred side accompaniments such as fish balls, ham balls, fu chok (beancurd sheet), crabmeat sticks, stuffed tofu, fried wantan, seafood tofu etc etc. The boss will then add on the gravy of your choice (either curry or thick brown sweet gravy).

Photobucket

But I want my CCF with mushroom gravy, pickled green chillies and plenty of sesame seeds sprinkling. Where are they???

Photobucket
How silly of me to think that CCF in KL are only available in one type (the type I mentioned above) 😛 Kevin brought me to this place in Pudu end of last month for CCF called Yap Hup Kee. I might end up lost if you ask me to come here again. Good thing was they serve yong tau foo here too to go with your noodles. You can choose from CCF (curry or gravy) or dry lou shi fun. We choose the curry CCF which was very smooth and delicious! Topped with some fried dried prawns, it’s extremely addictive but too bad, the serving here was quite small.

Photobucket
Kevin’s choice of yong tau foo, the usual fu chok, fried wantan and also some deep fried pig intestines which was quite chewy. I don’t really like it.

Photobucket
Stuff that is worth to mention was the fried wantan because it’s no ordinary fried wantan. Inside the crunchy wantan skin parcel is the fish paste with salted egg yolk. Yes, you read it correctly, salted egg yolk. It’s not overly salty and did not overpower the overall taste of the wantan. Love this a lot!

They also serves claypot lou she fun, claypot prawn dumpling soup and also steamboat here. Too bad we were there quite late, else there will be more choices of yong tau foo to choose from. Shall drop by again!

Restoran Yap Hup Kee
45, Jalan Brunei Barat,
off Jalan Pudu,
55100 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 03-2148 9220
Business Hour: 9am – 5pm & 5.30pm – 11pm
(Closed on every two weeks’ Tuesday)

(Damansara Utama’s branch)
31, Jalan SS21/56B,
Damansara Utama,
47400 Petaling Jaya.
Tel: 03-7710 8131
Business Hour: 10am – 9pm

Read more here:

42 thoughts on “I Like CCF Too!

  1. UGWUG: High 5!

    Nic: Anson CCF is available at Damansara (somewhere) 😛 Ask WMW for direction?

    Jackson: Me too! add a dash of chilli sauce.

    Tummythoz: I heard that the herbal soup is only available during lunch time?

    Jojo: Johor don’t have? Then what they have there?

    Babe_KL: I know! Let’s organize a CCF & YTF makan trip here. 🙂

  2. I STILL haven’t gone to the Pudu one but I’m such a regular at the Uptown one I think I may suffer an overdose, hehe.

    The default size for the CCF is a bit small though, your readers might want to go for the bigger portion. 🙂

  3. Eh, craving for chee cheong fun even though I just took my dinner! We don’t really know where’s good for ccf, will go to this place that you introduced next time!

  4. LotsOfCravings: It’s season for CCF.. hehe.

    Kenny: I’m sure most of the readers will go for second helpings. 😀

    Mimi: Yeah and delish too!

    NKOTB: Welcome back. Hope you feel better. I’m sure you will like it too.

    Jian: Bwahahaha.

    J2Kfm: Can can but my directional skill sucks. 😛

    Sugar Bean: If this place is too far for you, there’s another one in Damansara too. Refer to the address above. 🙂

  5. i like CCF as well… 3 of us… haha.. only one dun like it… Fei Fei.. he dun like the prawn paste… 😛

    I like the sweet sauce favor..

    I know An Soon is famous place to get variety of CCF… dun know 3 of us can fit in one car and go for the CCF hunt… 😛

  6. i however still prefer my ipoh style ccf- mushroom gravy, green pickled chillies and sesame. my tastebuds arent accustomed to the kl style ccf. hehehe.

  7. Johor’ians use the brown sweet sauce. Highly influence by Singapore eating style.
    But luckily they never adapt to the red sweet sauce, similar to what some of the places in Sg, phew~

  8. I had the same response to KL ccf the first time I saw it too! Haha. I thought it’s weird they put so much extra stuff, when I grew up eating those with soy sauce and pickled chilli or with prawn paste. I guess ccf are treated more like a noodle here than as a dish itself

  9. *referring to xlb comment:
    XD singapore where got good ccf hayo…

    Jason: u think the lou pan will sell oni the salted egg wantan? XD Hope he doesnt sweep me out of his shop using a broom 😛

  10. Haha, in Singapore there’s this place which sells CCF with various unusual fillings (think durian chee chong fun). Haven’t tried it yet but it’s at killiney road if you are interested.

    Btw, nice blog, gonna link u up 😉

  11. Penang Tua Pui: Actually, I haven’t tried the CCF with prawn paste yet… I wonder whehter I will hate or like it. Anson’s CCF is unique… I tried once fresh from the shop in Anson and another one in Damansara.

    Christine: Ehh…. does that mean you can’t take curry at all?

    RachelT: You’re most welcome.

    YilingL: Yeah, kinda miss Ipoh’s CCF.

    Jojo: That’s good… can’t imagine how it will tastes like :S

    Durianberry: I think you’re correct. Or maybe they came up with such idea to maximise their profit.

    Jun: Eh, why? Too bland?

    XLB: Singapore or KL??

    Anonymous: I think should be okay. Hahaha… the boss is not that bad.

    Sam: Durian CCF!? Omigawd…
    Thanks for the linking!

  12. Aidan: Old time favourites!

    Tummythoz: Maybe I should go in day time on my next visit.

    Jun: Not all chili sauce tastes like that.

    Christine: Aha, get well soon!

    SC: Yes yes! Let’s go again together next time.

    Precious Pea: The wantan is really nice, unlike those usual bland ones.

    Bernsy: Yeap, I stay nearby there. At least it’s better than the opposite San Yulik.

    Little Inbox: You don’t like curry CCF?

  13. Lovelymummy: Yeah, kinda miss Ipoh’s CCF.

    Yozoranitesky: Hi there, thanks for visit. You seems to love CCF a lot!

    Vkeong: I wanna try prawn paste CCF! 😦

  14. Pingback: Passing Thoughts — Sauce making and Receipts

  15. Pingback: DU Project: Yap Hup Kee Restaurant (YTF ) « Ipoh Mali Talak Sombong!

Leave a comment