KL Trip 27th-29th April: Prologue – Floggers Gathering @ Sandias, Plaza Damansara

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
First and foremost, a million thanks to boo_licious for inviting me to join the first large scale food bloggers (floggers) gathering which took place at Sandias, Plaza Damansara last Friday (27th April), tagged along with RSVP event presented by KLue and Martell.

It was around 7.50pm and the restaurant was already packed with bloggers. Among the familiar faces I recognised were Jackson, KampungBoyCityGal, Joe, tankiasu and MeiYen. Then comes a pretty girl in cyan polo shirt, introduced herself as Teckiee (hahaha) and next was “tai kah jie” aka Big Sister, WMW.

The seats at the middle are fully occupied, so I just took mine at one corner nearby the kitchen and guess what… Tummythoz and Mark were just next to me! The rest who shared the same table as mine were Phitoy, Fezzaboy (Kington) and Cookies_Cream.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Chocolate in small box. Nigel commented that the box looks like condom… Hahahaha~~!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
My appetizer: Taquitos Fritos – hand rolled tortillas filled with shredded chicken strips seasoned with cilantro and onions, garnished with fresh cream, salsa verde and lettuce. It is supposed to be served with cheese too but where is it??? The others commented that the tortillas are a bit oily but I find it to be just fine.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Tummythoz’s appetizer: Sopa de Calabaza Con Salsa – creamy pumpkin soup with a dollop of pico de gallo salsa. They actually served the wrong appetizer for her as she also opted for the tortilla rolls but she decided to accept it.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Main course: Pollo a la Castellana – sautéed and braised quarter chicken, topped with a rich sauce of nuts, fennel and dried chilli seeds. The sauce was nice but the chicken were a bit dry. I would say I enjoy the sauce and seeds more. The rice and veggies were bland too.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Dessert: Postre Helado de Limon – layered gallet and frozen lime cream, accompanied by strawberry couli. I guess they added an extra scoop of ice cream for us but mine…. as you can see, it’s already melted when it reaches to me. O_o

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Free flow of cocktail with some juice and Martell. No idea what juice was that but it tastes like peach…

As promised, there will be no group and individuals photos posted here as most of them wanna remain discreet. =)

It was really fun to get together with so many people who share the same passion and interest on food. They’re so friendly and nice! To those who came over to introduce yourself, (the list include Teckiee, KampungBoyCityGal, Cookies_Cream, Babe_KL, Xiu Long Bao & Char Siew Bao, Timothy aka Tim and SC) I would like to say thank you and I really appreciate them. Oh, not to forget Adly for the lovely book too!

As the gathering dismissed around 11pm, some of us went to The Attic at Jalan Bangkung, Bangsar for second round of get-together session. And as promised by Nigel, each of us we treated to a slice of Nigel & Allan’s best seller cake, the Choc & Cheese which tastes absolutely marvelous!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
The only clear picture of my portion due to dim lighting at The Attic. If not because I drank too much water before the cake tasting session, I would grab the last remaining piece too! LOL

Honestly, I’m glad that I made it to the gathering. It was like once in a lifetime experience to meet the floggers and make new friends. Although the meal was just average, the companionship is what makes the difference to the whole idea of floggers gathering.

Sandias
44, Plaza Damansara,
Jalan Medan Setia 2,
Bukit Damansara,
50490 Kuala Lumpur.
Tel: 03-2095 8431
Fax: 03-2095 8502
www.sandiasrestaurant.com/home.html

The Attic
61-2, Jalan Bangkung,
Bukit Bandaraya, Bangsar,
Kuala Lumpur.
Tel: 03-2093 8842
www.attickl.com

Other floggers’ review on the gathering:

21 thoughts on “KL Trip 27th-29th April: Prologue – Floggers Gathering @ Sandias, Plaza Damansara

  1. It was a pleasure meeting you my little bro…Not only did the gathering gave us a chance to know one another but new friendships were form that night too with the floggers. It was truly a great night!

  2. hi jason, you really very quiet and shy hor? LOL cannot like that you know, otherwise you’ll quietly eat more than us while we busy chatting LOL

  3. wmw: Yeah, I’m truly glad that I attended the gathering. It was such pleasure and fun to meet up with so many interesting people!

    Babe_KL: Hahaha… I’ll try to be more active for the next meeting.

  4. Pingback: O Food(Bloggers) Galore! « Kenny Mah » Life for Beginners

  5. Hey Jason!!
    It was nice meeting you last weekend, and thanks so much for dropping by at my reading. All the support meant much to me.

    Now, the question is, did those flogger-ladies get you some chicks over the weekend? Heh heh heh…

  6. Nice meeting you too Jason. I wanted to talk to you more after I introduced myself, but you looked so quiet and scary! Haha…not scary la. Maybe too shy? If I get to meet you next time do allow us to chat more k? 😉

  7. Lyrical Lemongrass: It was such a pleasure meeting you too! And you’re so darn funny LOL. You know what? At first I thought Nisa was you!

    citygal: Hey, talkative is better than shy and quiet 🙂 Okie, will “train” myself for the next meeting!

    Kenny Mah: You’re welcome 😉 Love your reading on “I Am Woman”, it sounds very meaningful.

    cookies_cream: Alamak… everyone say I looked so serious! Okie, next time we meet, I’ll make sure I won’t scare you again. It’s nice meeting you too.

  8. dont worry la..i think martell not strong enough..next time we go free flow beer and chivas..maybe wine too..maybe then he will be more talkative..!

    nice meeting you also!..my pleasure..

  9. Joe: Free flow of beer and chivas will surely make me snoring away rather than talkative lar!

    SC: Glad to meet you too, I hope you had a good time travelling to Penang and Ipoh during the long holiday. Yeah, hope that we go for foodcrawl again 😉

  10. Eh, Jason ah…great meeting you. Sorry for delay in commenting but been commenting on all the usual blogs that my rather more “used” brain thought that I had already commented on yours. 🙂

    You’re a great guy and great company. 🙂

    Nigel

  11. Pingback: O Food(Bloggers) Galore! | LIFE FOR BEGINNERS

Leave a comment