Hailam Noodle @ Restoran Mee Hailam Ang Ang, Ipoh

I went to this Hailam Mee Restaurant with George and Kai Ching which is located nearby Kai Ching’s house this noon for my brunch. It’s lunch, actually 🙂

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
This is not the first time we’re here. The special about this shop: It’s packed with customers during lunch hour, even it’s located at an area which we refer as “hidden”. It’s surrounded by housing estates and the route to get there is confusing.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
The shop is full with patrons as you can see. The shop serve halal cuisine. When we entered, there are 2 groups of Indian customers, a few Malays and the rest are Chinese. We placed our orders and the waitress told us that we’ll need to wait a bit since there are lots of customers. Ermm….

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Our order arrive finally! (Waited for about 1/2 hour) Kai Ching’s order, Hailam Noodle with Chicken & Bitter Gourd, the dry version. If I’m not mistaken, I think it costs RM5.50. Consist of minced chicken meat, “choy sum” (sweet mustard), bitter gourd and lots of garlic! I didn’t taste it but they say it’s good, just the colour not dark enough 😛

Actually, I don’t really know the difference between Hailam Mee and Hokkien Mee, probably because the two dishes use the same noodle (tai lok mee)?

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
My lunch! Hailam Noodle with Chicken, “wet” version. Consist of minced chicken meat, “choy sum” and garlic, priced at Rm4.50. Tastes a bit bland, though…

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Final dish, Fried Vermicelli, “wet” version. George say it’s nice cos he tried it before but I find it a bit plain and has the taste of raw vermicelli. Price, unknown 😛 There are other Hailam Mee available such as Shrimp and Petai Hailam Noodle, Shrimp Hailam Noodle etc. Overall, it’s food are not bad, but I would advise that you go earlier. Easier to get a table and the chefs tend to cook the food in rush when there’s many customers (that’s what the waitress told us! heh…)

Restoran Mee Hailam Ang Ang
(street name unknown)
Behind Taman Boon Bak, Pasir Putih
31650 Ipoh.
Halal.
* Business Hour:
Tuesday to Saturday: 9.30am – 5.00pm
Sunday: 9.30am – 4.00pm
Close on Monday.

4 thoughts on “Hailam Noodle @ Restoran Mee Hailam Ang Ang, Ipoh

  1. June 10, 2012 at 9:13 amMY 1ST EXPERIENCE HAVING THIS MEE PARIT WAS IN 1992 WHEN I WAS IN FORM 6……. BELIEVE IT OR NOT, I DIDN’T MISS IT EVERY WEEK SINCE THEN……..AFTER CONTINUE STUDYING IN KL, I WILL STILL GO BACK TO THIS HEAVEN MEE SHOP EVERY TIME I GO BACK TO PERAK. AND GUESS WHAT, I HAVE MARRIED AND HAVE 2 KIDS NOW AND WE STILL GO THERE…. MY SON REALLY LOVE IT!!!!! AND T BEST THING IS AS TODAY IS ‘FATHER’S DAY, MY WIFE, MY MOM AND MY WHOLE FAMILY WANNA BELANJA MEE PARIT!!!! CANT WAIT…… Thks for t lovely dish which i can say ONE OF THE THING THAT MAKE MY FAMILY KEEP ON CONTACTING EACH OTHER AS WELL RESULTING A TRUE FAMILY GATHERING…… Please please please…try it bfore you die…..hahahahahahahhahahhahaha

  2. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed!
    Very helpful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much.
    I was looking for this certain information for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

Leave a comment