The King of Spare Ribs in Klang

Klan prides itself all these years as the infamous destination when you’re craving for Bak Kut Teh. Very few mention about its other local specialties, such as the Klang cendol and also, the King of spare ribs.

Photobucket

After my fourth trip to Bangkok last month, we went all the way to Klang for lunch at this hidden gem, as Eqhern needed to go to the JPJ office in Shah Alam. CK leads the way after I provided him the address. He has not heard of this place, eventhough he’s from Klang himself. The place is rather easy to find, located at the shophouses next to the mosque (talking about irony; pork and religion) and across the street, is where the Klang cendol shop located.

Photobucket

We ordered four dishes, and the Hakka Char Yuk (meatballs, RM 1.00 per piece) was the first to arrived. The texture resembles the humble Ipoh “sar kok liew” and redolent with Five Spices Powder (a combination of 5 types of spices usually used in Chinese cooking). Crisp on the outside and warm on the inside, this make a good starter.

Photobucket

The main star would certainly be the signature Hakka Paikut (or Pai Kuat, as pronounced in Cantonese, price starting from RM6). Peng Heong uses the boneless spare ribs cut, much to my delight as I don’t really fancy meat with bones attached. It looks very similar like char siew, except the fatty parts but still, it has the melt-in-the-mouth sensation nonetheless. Slightly sticky with the caramelized basting and served with its own marinade, the fillets were exceptionally tender and flavourful.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

While the spare ribs was good, their Claypot Chicken Satay was just mediocre. The gravy was flavourful but we feel that it was rather heavy on the dried coconut taste (satay sauce usually doesn’t contain coconut but the four of us agreed that we tasted the same thing, so it’s not just my imagination). The credit of the dish would be the big chunks of tender chicken meat.

Photobucket

Peng Heong Hakka Paikut Restaurant
No. 2, Lorong Gudang Nanas,
Off Jalan Pasar, 41400 Klang.
Tel : 019-260 0855 or 012-236 9855.

Click here for more reads on J2kfm’s point of view and map.

And here are some of the results found on Google:

14 thoughts on “The King of Spare Ribs in Klang

  1. wei u know ah, the other day we were thinking of having our breakfast there again.
    but held back the thought, cz having rice with so much meat so early in the morning might just spoil the day lah ……

    hehe, ended up having BKT. *_*

    ironic eh?

  2. LotsofCravings,
    Nicole should know where it is. Show her the address 🙂

    J2kfm,
    Aiya, next time don’t think, just eat!

    SC,
    It was on TV b4? I saw plenty of pictures showing the old stall and newspaper cuttings hanging on the wall there.

    Kan,
    Ahaha, when you’re down here lo.

    Nic,
    You’re Hakka yourself? Hope you’ll like the food!

  3. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized
    it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found
    it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  4. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it
    seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a comment