Floggers Year End Party @ My Elephant, Section 17, PJ

It’s the end of year 2007, and there’s plenty of reasons to get together and party. And after 8 months since the last big scale floggers gathering, our dear Lyrical Lemongrass and Precious Pea planned to have a belated Christmas cum year end floggers party. As the invitations being sent out on Facebook and emails one week before the event kicks off, I can feel that it’s gonna be another awesome party.

“It’s been awhile since our last gathering at Sandias, so let’s get together before the end of the year and create a ruckus, eat till our seams burst and throw up everything after that (what fun)!!!”

See what I mean? πŸ˜›

Photobucket
Teckiee and her friend Sean picked me from the LRT station and when we arrived, the sky was already dark and we saw most of the bloggers/floggers are already there. There’s about 40 (bloggers, floggers and their guests/friends) turned up for the event, where I just met some of them for the first time.

Photobucket

Photobucket

PhotobucketΒ 

Photobucket
Jackson and I grabbed a seat at the corner table along with the new faces of the flogsphere (you won’t find the word in Wikipedia, I made that up πŸ˜› ) namely Ai Wei aka Ivy, Chris and Christine and Ekeng and also the sweet couple floggers, KampungBoyCityGal.

Photobucket
Each of us also brought presents to be donated to the orphanage home, a charitable event organized by Jackson. Meaningful I would say. We hope the children were happy with their presents.

Photobucket
FoodieLianne shared with the guys her bottle of Umeshu aka plum wine she brought back from Japan. I took a small sip from Jackson’s cup and find it very potent. I don’t usually take alcohol… so maybe it’s just me.

Photobucket
The dinner kicked start with fluffy brown rice…

Photobucket
First dish served was the Pak Choop Pang Tod (Thai-style Vegetable Tempura) which consists of battered and deep-fried long beans, carrots and lotus root. The veggies remain crispy and the good point is they’re not very oily. But I’m not sure if this is an authentic Thai dish.

Photobucket
When I saw papaya salad was in the menu, I was excited. And then when the dish was presented to us, I was a bit disappointed though. Our Som Tam Malakor (Green Papaya with Dried Prawns and Peanuts) seems to lack the main ingredient, the papaya itself. I also didn’t notice if there’s any dried prawns in it.

Photobucket
The Thai Yellow Curry with River Prawns or Choo Chee Goong are served in an interesting way; the prawns were stuffed in a “bread basket”. Despite that I’m actually having a bad sore throat that night, I tasted the curry and found it fragrant and quite thick. I didn’t taste the prawns of course but the bread goes well with the curry.

Photobucket
Like most people say, “A Thai meal wouldn’t be complete without tom yam!” The Tom Klong (Northern Thai Tom Yum with Fish Cutlets) was fiery and quite sour for my tastebuds. Again, I just took a small sip just to taste the soup as I’m having sore throat. The fried fish cutlets were very tender and fresh nonetheless.

Photobucket
Another fish dish of the night, Plah Nung Manow (Steamed Fish, Thai style I presumed) was flavourful and very fresh. It’s well presented with a blend of ingredients such as lime slices, red chillies, cilantro and garlic.

Photobucket
The Chillied Lamb looks like a typical stir-fry dish with lamb cutlets, bell peppers, cashew nuts etc but I can’t detect any presence of chilli to it.

Photobucket
Last dish of the night, Red Curry Duck with Konnyaku, Avocadoes and Rambutan which has a unique blend of ingredients. I didn’t try this as I was busy chatting with FoodieLianne and the rest of the gang and when I returned to my seat, I found my plate cleared. But maybe that’s a good sign too as I found my sore throat getting worse after the dinner that night. Can’t imagine how bad the condition will turn out to be if I’d really tried the curry.

Photobucket
Last but not least, we had the Sago Pudding with Tai Mangoes and also free flow of Pandan or Krachiap (Roselle fruit) coolers. As most of us expected that the dessert will be served chilled, we were quite surprised that it came at room temperature. The mangoes were sweet but I doubt that they uses real Thai mangoes. There’s jackfruit added to it as well. Jackson told me that the sago pudding were a bit too… sticky for him.

Photobucket
From left to right: Chris, Ekeng and KampungBoy.

Photobucket
Ai Wei and Christine.

After the dinner, camwhoring and chatting activities continues before we were surprised by a sudden blogger award presentation ceremony!

Sweetest Blogger – Christine, Aiwei, Jun, Yin
Sweetest Blogging Couple – KampungBoyCityGal
Handsomest Blogger – Ekeng, Riz, CatsnDogs
Most Kissable Lips – Yours truly! :p
Best Earned Nick – Joe aka Nipples
Best Male Cook Blogger – Kusahi Keat
Activist Food Blogger – Tankiasu
Almost a Vietnamese Blogger – SC
Most Idolised Blogger – Boolicious
Most Flirtatious Blogger – Kenny Mah
Most Poetic Blogger – Nic
Blogger with a Gender Crisis – Teckiee
Most Enlightened Blogger – FoodieLianne
Hungriest Blogger – Paprika
Spiciest Foodsite – Adly
One of the Best Bakers in Town – BBO
Former (to-be) M’sian Blogger – XiuLongBao
Most Recognised Blogger (in KL, PJ, Klang, Shah Alam and even Bangkok!) – Jackson
The Royal Blogger, Queen of King Crab – Precious Pea
Human Tripod Blogger – WMW
Celebrity Blogger Of The Year – Lyrical Lemongrass

Photobucket
My award *wide grin* It’s a lipbalm for men ^^

Photobucket
And more camwhoring. Group pictures featuring the pretty, young and active food bloggers!

Photobucket

All our thanks goes to Lyrical Lemongrass, Precious Pea and also WMW for all the efforts they contributed to make the event a successful one. Let’s hope that there’s more food and more gathering to come in the future. And also, a Happy New Year to all readers/bloggers/floggers!

Photobucket

My Elephant
Block C-G4, Happy Mansion,
Section 17/13,
46400 Petaling Jaya.
Business Hour: Tuesday – Sunday. (Lunch: 12.00pm – 2.30pm. Dinner: 6.00pm – 10.00pm)
Tel: 012-3285028 or 019-3608911

Other floggers’ write-ups:

P/S: We made a return trip to My Elephant somewhere in March 2010 for birthday dinner and the food seems to have improved tremendously. Will definitely drop by again in the future.

18 thoughts on “Floggers Year End Party @ My Elephant, Section 17, PJ

  1. Wow… a new look for the new year! Fresh and light-hearted… nice. πŸ˜‰

    And so, did you make full use of your award? Hehe..

  2. BBO: Thank you!

    Nic: Thanks and nice to meet you too! Hope to see you again for another foodcrawl or gathering.

    Kenny: Thanks dude! Erm… nope, I haven’t use it yet (still wondering how it’ll look on me!). How about you? πŸ˜›

    Christine: Thanks and it was nice meeting you and Chris too. Yeah, we certainly have not talked enough, I promise I’ll be more talkative next time we meet! Happy New Year!

    Precious Pea: Thanks sister! I like yours too, very orangey and lively πŸ™‚

  3. Wooow… less than 100 comments!!… I have to take advantage of this and write my comment on your blog… ok… what should I write??… mmm, I don’t think my criminal history would help me gain your sympathy, uh?? haha… in any case, I would like to say that I believe you’re a terrific blogger and writer… so, thanks for that.. now I know I’m not a robot. well, this comment is gettin’ too long to be read, so i’ll stop now…

Leave a comment