The Elusive Caramel Custard

Photobucket

The food bloggers finally made it to Ipoh! I think we planned this trip for 2 years and we only got it executed two weeks ago. Wooo, finally! When Precious Pea told us she will be back to Malaysia for 2 months for Chinese New Year, we immediately choose a date that suits everyone and came up with the itinerary.

I’m not gonna put the trip or the places we stopped in sequence as I’m sure you can read about it at WMW or Precious Pea’s blogs. We did stopped by in Ipoh Old Town for the caramel custard (nicknamed “elusive caramel custard” because it’ll usually sold out by 10am and sometimes earlier, especially on weekends). The grumpy-looking aunty that served us seems rather unfriendly, but she did smiled a bit when she saw us busy snapping away. Priced at RM2.10, it came with a glass of water too. I found the custard nice; wobbly, eggy and slippery smooth but the brown sugar syrup has a weird taste to it, which I don’t know how to describe it. Teckiee agreed with me, while WMW found it overall nice, though.

Photobucket

Jackson ordered a bowl of Chicken Hor Fun (RM 4.50) to be shared. Since we took our time to snap photos of it, the noodle eventually soaked up most of the soup by the time we dig it. Very standard Ipoh hor fun. The soup was sweet with mild prawn taste.

Photobucket

Thean Chun Coffeeshop
73, Jalan Market, Ipoh.

Tel: 05-255 3076
Business hours: 8.00am – 4.30pm (Caramel custard usually sold out by 10am)
Closed on Thursdays.

20 thoughts on “The Elusive Caramel Custard

  1. It’s burnt caramel, and I like it a lot.🙂
    They don’t run out that fast on weekdays, sometimes until lunch hour still got. Think about it, Thean Chun NOT as crowded as before.

  2. @Ai Wei, yeah… 2 years and finally done!

    @Anonymous, sorry, i’m not sure about the mirrors.

    @Bangsar Babe, yep.. the faint burnt taste. That’s what I was trying to describe earlier.

    @WMW, and 2 and 3 and 4!

    @Jun, hehehe

    @J2kfm, but we won’t be there on weekdays.

    @Neko hime, time go revisit?

  3. Oh this custard brought back memories of all the wonderful moments visitng Ipoh and hvg this favourite of mine. Couldn’t remember the shop since I was only a nerdy teen then. Been looking for it and wonder if this is THE place where I used to have it.

    Thanks a lot. Will certainly go early morn the next time I’m in Ipoh. ^_^
    +Ant+

  4. I am still sorting out all the photos I took and haven’t make up my mind to do everything in 1 post or spread it out leh. If 1 post, too many photos, if spread it out, i know I will surely get lazy. Sekali 2 years to post about this trip. LOL!

  5. Hi Ipoh Mali Talak Sombong,you have done a good job! I am an Ipohgal staying in KL.I liked your food blog which makes me yearned for home food.

    Whenever I come back with my family,we will try to taste as many famous Ipoh food as possible,many which are featured in your blog.
    I loved those caramel custard the best.It is just heavenly,yummy!

    By the way,do drop by and visit Ipoh heritage blog.

    http://www.ipohworld.org/blog/

    (This is a site to share information and photographs of Perak’s heritage and social history for recording in our online database archive. Donors will be credited if they wish, but please remember that the laws of copyright apply in Malaysia and …………………..)

  6. Born & bred in Ipoh and proud to see people like you keeping track of Ipoh’s legendary restaurants. I’ve been going to Kong Heng/Thien Chun from kindergarten up till secondary school, after which I left Ipoh, and never really knew the name of the place – we used to simply call it Glutton Square. Your blog is an eye opener to even die hard Ipoh Mali’s like myself🙂.

Leave a Reply

