Simple Spinach

I’m feeling rather uninspired lately (as what I told WMW as I’m typing this). Maybe I need to recharge myself (thank goodness I will be away for holiday this coming Saturday, can’t wait!)

Since I’m uninspired, here’s a short post on the latest stuff I experimented in my kitchen.

Photobucket

I rarely cook spinach cos the nearest supermarket doesn’t sell them, so I have to buy them at the local wet market instead. Mom usually just stir-fry it with garlic and I find it rather plain. So, I experimented it by adding more ingredients to it and that’s the result. It didn’t turn out to be as what I expected; it was rather watery and the eggs were way too mushy. Shall try to improvise it again another time.

I used:

  1. 2 cloves garlic, crushed and minced
  2. 300 – 400 grams of spinach, roots removed, rinsed in running water and chopped to preferred length
  3. 1 medium-sized egg, lightly beaten
  4. a handful of anchovies, heads and innards removed and cleaned
  5. 1/2 cup of water
  6. salt to taste

Directions:

  1. Shallow fry the anchovies with medium heat, stirring constantly till it turns crunchy and golden brown. Dish up, drain on paper towel to remove excess oil and set aside.
  2. Sauté the garlic till fragrant, then add in the spinach. Toss to mix well, season with salt. Add water and cover the wok/pan to let it simmer a while to soften the veggies.
  3. Once most of the water evaporates and veggies tender, lower heat. Pour in the egg and mix them gently. Dish up and garnish with the crispy anchovies. Serve immediately.
  4. Have a good weekend, everyone! I know I will. 😉

16 thoughts on “Simple Spinach

  1. WMW,
    Haha, that’s a good excuse 😛

    LotsofCraving,
    I thought too create the silky eggy strands by doing so… but it turned out clumpy… Hmm…

    Tummythoz,
    Hehe, was away to Guilin in Aug.

    William,
    Try try.

    Ai Wei,
    Oh you don’t like spinach? It’s rich in iron.

    Chin,
    Deep fried them together! Thanks for the tip!

    Unkaleong,
    I hope so too. Thanks and you have a good weekend too ya!

Leave a Reply

