Shakey’s Pizza @ Leisure Mall, Cheras, KL

Let us talk about pizza today. In Ipoh, you won’t find other type of pizza brand except the usual Pizza Hut (and those frozen packed in supermarket, of course). During my trips to KL many many years ago, I get to know about Domino Pizza, the thin crust type of pizza (which Pizza Hut haven’t come out with that time) and the list goes on. And it’s difficult to find a place that serves good pizza with reasonable price.Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
2 months ago, I was able to try out another pizza brand (which I think is a local company), Shakey’s Pizza. Issac, his siblings and me went to this outlet at Leisure Mall before our karaoke session.

We went for their set meal for four person which include:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Cream of mushroom. Nothing out of the ordinary, taste just like those you find at normal cafés. (how special can it go with pre-packed cream of mushroom by the way?)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Basket of garlic bread which is slightly bigger in term of size and servings than Pizza Hut. Tastes pretty ordinary too.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Two regular pizzas of our choice. First one is the seafood pizza that comes with generous amount of tuna flakes, crabsticks, pineapples, green capsicums and fish balls. Yes, you read that… I repeat, fish ball. I was surprised too, how the heck they came up with the idea to put fish balls in pizza? The taste of the pizza and fish ball doesn’t match at all but anyway, they just gave us 6 pieces of that. Such a new thing to me… and weird too.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
Second choice, we opted for chicken supreme. This is quite good with marinated chicken chunks, green capsicum, pineapples, tomatoes and onions. Oh, and cheese of course. I’ll say that their version is better than Pizza Hut as PH tend to be skimpy on the toppings.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
And some dessert to end the meal which made us utter the word “Eiyer…”. Mango pudding with scary yellow colouring, tastes absolutely “artificial” and rough in texture. It’s like eating deep fried beancurd in mango flavour.

Overall, Shakey’s Pizza is kinda ok to me, at least with some different type of toppings that PH and Domino does not offer. Wouldn’t mind to come back again and try their other items in the menu.

Click here for more information on Shakey’s Pizza and click here for the list of outlets and their contact numbers in Malaysia. By the way, I Googled about Shakey’s Pizza and found that it is actually a pizza franchise originated from the US. Our local Shakey’s share the same logo as the US.

24 thoughts on “Shakey’s Pizza @ Leisure Mall, Cheras, KL

  1. i remember many years ago, in sungai wang they used to have buffet at shakeys..we will stuff ourself silly 1..
    but now i only like thin crust italian pizza..die taste also higher class d..

  2. Shakey’s brings back lots of memories. I used to hang out at their very first outlet at Bukit Bintang Plaza…but haven’t eaten it for about a decade now!

  3. I had lots of chance to try Shakey back when I was working in Cyberjaya. There was an outlet in Mines.. but I only heard bad thing about them so I usually stick to Dominos/Pizza Hut. Dominos remain my best pizza outlet, cheap and big piece lol

  4. we never had any good experience with shakeys , their staff seem slow and lethargic ! unlike pizza hut which was slightly better haha but we notice many times Malays love pizzas right( aka kfc) ?

  5. used to dine in shakeys during college days… not anymore now. Have not intended to try their dessert at all as I have a feeling that they are “artificial”! ;P

  6. Celine: The chicken supreme is not bad. 🙂

    WMW: Wah, it’s been around for so long already??

    Jacelyn: Yeah, no Shakeys in Ipoh. 😦

    vKeong: I prefer Dominos too!

    Tonixe: Shakeys were a bit slow in service but Pizza Hut was not good either. We once went to PH in Ipoh, their service was a total disappoinment. My friend can’t stand it and complaint through their website.

    Christine: Yes! Stay out from their dessert. I guess you can even make better one than them!

    Tummythoz: PH’s chicken wings were just mediocre to me. 🙂

  7. Well, I very picky in pizza nowadays. I prefer the true italian pizza. Hehe… I know that last time in SS2 there used to be a Buffet Shakeys Pizza. Everyone fighting for the pizza the moment it’s served. Hehe…

  8. Mei Yen: At least something else than the usual PH. 🙂

    Cutie: Any nice pizza place to recommend?

    Christy: Thanks for the compliment! 🙂 Their seafood pizza doesn’t have prawns. But again, I don’t take prawns. Heh.

Leave a Reply

